Government Holidays

Public Holidays for the year 2011
Saturday the 1st of JanuaryNew Year's Day **
Saturday the 15th of JanuaryTamil New Year's Day / Pongal **
Sunday the 16th of JanuaryThiruvalluvar Day **
Monday the 17th of JanuaryUzhavar Thirunal
Wednesday the 26th of JanuaryRepublic Day
Wednesday the 16th of FebruaryMeelad-un-Nabi
Friday the 1st of AprilAnnual Closing of Accounts for Commercial and Co-operative Banks *
Monday the 4th of AprilTelugu New Year's Day
Thursday the 14th of AprilDr. B.R. Ambedkar's Birthday
Saturday the 16th of AprilMahaveer Jayanthi **
Friday the 22nd of AprilGood Friday 
Sunday the 1st of MayMay Day **
Monday the 15th of AugustIndependence Day
Sunday the 21st of AugustKrishna Jayanthi **
Wednesday the 31st of AugustRamzan
Thursday the 1st of SeptemberVinayakar Chathurthi
Friday the 30th of SeptemberHalf yearly Closing of Accounts for Commercial and Co-operative Banks *
Sunday the 2nd of OctoberGandhi Jayanthi **
Wednesday the 5th of OctoberAyutha Pooja
Thursday the 6th of OctoberVijaya Dasami
Wednesday the 26th of OctoberDiwali
Monday the 7th of NovemberBakrid
Tuesday the 6th of DecemberMuharram
Sunday the 25th of DecemberChristmas**

** Though the New Year's Day (1st January 2011), Tamil New Year's Day and Pongal (15th January 2011), Thiruvalluvar Day (16th January 2011), Mahaveer Jayanthi (16th April 2011), May Day (1st May 2011), Krishna Jayanthi (21st August 2011), Gandhi Jayanthi (2nd October 2011) and Christmas (25th December 2011) fall on Saturdays and Sundays, they have been indicated in the above list for easy reference.

* Applicable only to Commercial Banks including Co-operative Banks in Tamil Nadu